My Life Would Have Been Better If I Wasn’t Autistic

Sorry, but autism is not the ideal way to be

Edward John
5 min readMay 25, 2022
piqsels

In recent years, more people have been diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder.

Hopefully, more autistic people will get the help and understanding they need.

But some people go a bit too far and say that autism is not a disability, that it’s merely a difference. Some go a step further and say that autistic people are better than non-autistic people. They regard being autistic as somehow a superior way for people to be, that life would be better if everyone were autistic.

I’m calling bullshit on that.

Autism is a disability.

It does cause problems for people, and that’s the whole point. As the UK’s National Autistic Society says:

“Autism is a lifelong developmental disability which affects how people communicate and interact with the world. One in 100 people are on the autism spectrum and there are around 700,000 autistic adults and children in the UK.”

I was diagnosed with Asperger’s syndrome nearly ten years ago, in December 2012. I sought assessment because I was having problems in my life. I’d had many years of difficulty with jobs, friendships, and relationships.

--

--

Edward John

Sometimes my inside is full of sunshine 🌞 edwardjohnwritesATgmailDOTcom