LIFE LESSONS

Why You Need to Be Careful About Helping People Who Can’t Be Helped

Some people are just too far gone and will drag you down

Edward John
4 min readJan 29, 2022

--

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

“When people are really lost, sometimes they’re so lost that they can’t be found.” — Jordan Peterson.

Have you ever desperately tried to help someone but it’s ended up being a total failure? Yes, me too. Let’s take a look at what that’s all about.

I used to try to save people

In 2004, I went through a health crisis. After that, I was on a journey of self-improvement. This spilt over into also trying to help other people too, which was usually a mistake.

For example, I once had a girlfriend who had paranoid schizophrenia. I didn’t realise how bad she was when we first started dating. But by the time I did realise, I was in too deep.

I wasn’t equipped to help her. I’m not a doctor or even a psychotherapist. I didn’t know what I was doing, but my desire to help her overshadowed that. I tried so hard to help her out, but it almost destroyed me.

Another example was a male friend of mine. He had no confirmed mental illness diagnosis, but his life was a complete disaster. He seemed to have a total inability to deal with any of…

--

--

Edward John

Sometimes my inside is full of sunshine 🌞 edwardjohnwritesATgmailDOTcom